The Indian Premier League, very similar to T20 cricket on the whole, often invokes reminiscences of power-hitting batsmen taking part in quickfire knocks amid the roar of the crowds. Nonetheless, the match has additionally been graced by some wonderful bowling performances which have left followers equally amazed. Whereas some turned the sport their crew’s manner with the opposition seemingly racing away to the victory, some dominated batsmen proper from the flip, not giving them an inch and sealing the win for his or her crew with ease.

Allow us to check out a few of the finest bowling spells within the historical past of the IPL:

Alzarri Joseph 6-12 (SunRisers Hyderabad vs Mumbai Indians, 2019)

A formidable bowling efficiency noticed SunRisers Hyderabad prohibit Mumbai Indians to simply 136/7, a complete that might very a lot be thought-about tough to defend. A 22-year-old Alzarri Joseph was making his IPL debut and he was up in opposition to a devastating opening pair of Johnny Bairstow and the match’s main run-scorer on the time — David Warner. When he got here in for his first over, SRH had simply misplaced Bairstow, nevertheless it was Warner on strike. Off his first ball within the match, Joseph rattled the stumps, with slightly assist from an inside edge. In his subsequent over, he dismissed Vijay Shankar.

However it was his spell on the finish that sealed the win for Mumbai, as he took 4 wickets in two overs to ship Hyderabad packing for 96, and within the course of, registering solely the third ever 6-wicket haul within the historical past of the match.

Adam Zampa 6-19 (Rising Pune Supergiants vs SunRisers Hyderabad, 2016)

SunRisers Hyderabad have been going gradual, however regular when Adam Zampa determined to show the sport on its head. The Australian leg-spinner took six wickets in three overs on the finish to limit the SunRisers to 137. Nonetheless, an impressed bowling efficiency from SRH themselves meant the Pune-based franchise fell 4 runs brief and misplaced the match.

Anil Kumble 5-5 (Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Rajasthan Royals, 2009)

Defending 133, Vinay Kumar and Jesse Ryder gave RCB an excellent begin, pegging Rajasthan right down to 5-2. All-rounders Yusuf Pathan and Ravindra Jadeja have been simply starting to construct a partnership, when Anil Kumble dismissed them off consecutive deliveries. Shane Warne and Munaf Patel fell in his subsequent over, and Kumble wrapped up the win when he dismissed Kamran Khan off the primary supply of his fourth over to assist bowl Rajasthan out for simply 58.

Amit Mishra 5-15 (Delhi Daredevils vs Deccan Chargers, 2008)

Batting first, Delhi Daredevils put up a complete of 194 with half-centuries from Gautam Gambhir and Shikhar Dhawan. Whereas Amit Mishra stunted Deccan Chargers’ high order with the wickets of Shahid Afridi and Herschelle Gibbs, they fought their approach to 180 in 19 overs. With the Chargers needing 15 to win off the final over, Delhi introduced on Mishra for the ultimate over, and he delivered, with three wickets off the primary three deliveries of the over because the Daredevils received by 12 runs.


Rohit Sharma 4-6 (Deccan Chargers vs Mumbai Indians, 2009)

A shock entry within the checklist is Rohit Sharma. Whereas he not often picks up the ball now, there was a time that the India opener used to place in a couple of overs of off-spin. Defending 145, the present Mumbai Indians captain threw a spanner within the works for his future crew. Coming in to bowl within the 16th over, Sharma dismissed Abhishek Nayar and Harbhajan Singh within the final two deliveries. Within the first ball of his subsequent over, he eliminated the damaging JP Duminy to finish an unlikely hat-trick. One supply later, he despatched Saurabh Tiwary packing and Mumbai might solely submit 126/eight because the Adam Gilchrist-led crew registered a 19-run victory.

Subjects talked about on this article


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here